The classes at Whanganui Intermediate School are organised into four clusters of six classes each. The four clusters are called Kahikatea, Harakeke, Rata, Tawa.

Each cluster is lead by a senior staff member. The cluster will often work closely together to plan interesting and exciting classroom programmes to cater for the needs of all their students.

We also have eight specialist subjects that rotate across the clusters each term. Our specialist team is called i-HUB (Innovation HUB) and comprises of the eight specialist classes (Design and Construction, Digital Technology, Culinary Arts, Art and Design, Performing Arts, Global Citizenship, Te Reo Māori me ona Tikanga and Science).